Sign In Forgot Password

CRO 75th Anniversary Celebration • From Generation to Generation • לדור ודור

June 7, 2018 
24 Sivan 5778 / כ״ד סִיוָן תשע״ח
6:30 pm Dinner Reception • 8 pm Program 
Dessert Reception following Program


Congregation Ramath Orah
550 West 110th Street, New York City


Ramath Orah has a unique legacy among Upper West Side synagogues. Founded by
Rabbi Dr. Robert Serebrenik, the synagogue’s original congregation was
comprised of 61 refugees from Luxembourg who escaped the Nazi occupation under extraordinary circumstances. When they arrived in New York they immediately began the work of establishing a congregation in their new home where they founded
Congregation Ramath Orah, naming it after the community they'd left.
Read more about our proud Luxembourg history here.

Our Honorees

Raymond J. Learsy
Founder Generation 

Stella and Tibor Herdan
Sustainer Generation

Mendy Haskel
Builder Generation

Learn more about our honorees here

Ramath Orah at 75 Video Presentation

Watch the video here.


View Photo Highlights from the Dinner

See more photo highlights here. 




read Jane's Welcome here

read Ann's Tribute here

read Rabbi Grussgott's Invocation here


read Jane's Tribute here

watch Ray's Remarks here

read Stella's Remarks here

read Mendy's Remarks  here

read Meredith's Remarks here

Ramath Orah Connections


Tell us about your connection to Ramath Orah's history here.
Share your memories of Ramath Orah with us...anecdotes, pictures, and historical facts welcome! 
Read others' Ramath Orah stories here.
Read excerpts from our archives here

Show Your Support


The deadline for the ad journal and to register to attend the 75th anniversary dinner has closed. If you would like to make a donation in honor of Ramath Orah's 75th historic milestone, please click here or email the office at

Ad Journal

View our virtual journal here.

Acknowledging the Contributions of our Distinguished Rabbis and Past Presidents

Past Rabbis

Rabbi Dr. Robert Serebrenik z"l
Rabbi Julius Novak z"l
Rabbi Jacob Haberman z"l,  Assistant Rabbi
Rabbi Moshe Morduchowitz z"l
Rabbi Jehoseph Haim Ralbag z"l
Rabbi Akiva Stolper
Rabbi Jonathan Feldman
Rabbi Jeffrey Kobrin
Rabbi Yair Silverman, Assistant Rabbi
Rabbi Etan Tokayer, Associate Rabbi
Rabbi Stephen Friedman
Rabbi Moshe Grussgott
Rabbi Aviad Bodner

Current Rabbi: Rabbi Yoni Zolty

Past Presidents

Otto Wolf z"l
Emil Wechsler z"l
Richard Mandler z"l
Reuben Coblens z"l
Jack Zimt z"l
Abe Friedman z"l
Jack Neumann z"l
Siegfried Herzfeld
Maks Rothstein z"l
Herbert Gersten z"l
Simon Blumenthal z"l
Henry Watkin
Tibor Herdan
Manfred Tauber z"l
Leo Chester z"l
Jeff Bogursky
Jane Blumenstein

Ann Goldhirsch

Current President: Ariel Fishman

Sun, May 19 2024 11 Iyyar 5784